#8sunday March 21, 2015 Ghost

Every Sunday Weekend Writing Warriors invites writers (of all shapes and sizes) to submit 8 sentences of a work or work in progress. It is a great way to put yourself out there and to connect with a vibrant and supportive community of other writers. This is my submission.

This piece was written in response to the below photo posted by Spiritual Writers’ Network on FaceBook. These are the first 8 lines. 

ghost

#8sunday Mar 22, 2015 Ghost

I have not always been a ghost. Once I was Real. But somehow, over the years, I lost the knack of holding myself together.

Each demurral and self-effacement caused the molecules of my being to loosen and become unstuck, until the day I disappeared altogether.

In the early days of my un-being I haunted the rooms of my childhood home in a bewildered fog of disbelief. I desperately held onto the hope that it was just a miserable dream, that I would awaken from it relieved and then I would resolve to do more than merely exist.

But I never woke.

Now l wander, only casting the faintest of shadows, living off fragments of discarded dreams.

If you enjoyed reading this, please, let me know. Your comments or impressions are very welcome. Alternatively, click on the ‘like’ button below.

If you would like to read more of this scene, click here.


To see what the other Weekend Writing Warriors have submitted, click on the link below.

wewriwa banner

19 thoughts on “#8sunday March 21, 2015 Ghost

  1. Ooh, fascinating and I loved the use of language along with all the other commenters! I’m in edits on a ghost story set in ancient Egypt and your ghost and mine are definitely in different afterlives LOL. Enjoyed the excerpt very much, can’t wait to read more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the mood this evokes. I’ve heard it said some people don’t realize they’re dead and have become ghosts yet, since they passed on so unexpectedly or haven’t come to terms with their own deaths yet.

    Like

  3. Nice job. I liked the almost scientific explanation of how the character has not only become a ghost but has realized it for itself. I look forward to reading more snippets. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is lovely and wistful. A good introduction, with a few hints to keep you reading.

    One thing that stood out to me–“unstuck” in the third sentence felt like it didn’t fit with your other word choices. You might consider a synonym.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Caitlin. yes, now that you have pointed it out, I agree, it needs to be a softer more fluid sounding word. How about ‘dissolve’? or ‘drift apart’? or ‘separate’? I want to create an idea of apathy, or unconsciousness of the process.

      Like

      1. I have to be honest, at the moment my writing is self indulgent. I suspect if I had to write for publishing I would get a lot of that, too. In the meantime I assume that my readers know the words I do. So here is to using ‘demur’ to our hearts’ content.

        Like

  5. Oh I like this! It’s evocative, but because you’re only using 8 sentences, you don’t get into many details and so we wonder about the rest of the person’s life — how did their disappearance affect their family and friends? Is there any possibility of becoming “real” again? Cool job on this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

