#8sunday July 05 , 2015 Poem: Are you me?

It’s Weekend Writing Warriors time again. This would have been my submission, I offer another poem.

My rhythm is out, and I missed the deadline again! (Our family drama seems to play itself out on Saturdays leaving me drained, disoriented and out of step. Such is life!)

#8sunday July 05 , 2015  Poem: Are you me?

image

Are you me?
I get confused sometimes.
We look the same,
We act the same,
Like a fox and his reflection.

Yet you are there,
And I am here.
In different universes
Magically bound by forces unseen.
Like a reflection and his fox.

So which am I now?
The fox or his reflection.

53 words Kim Magennis 2015

If you enjoyed reading this, please, let me know. Your comments or impressions are very welcome. Alternatively, click on the ‘like’ button below.

To see what the other Weekend Writing Warriors have submitted, click on the link below.

wewriwa banner

22 thoughts on “#8sunday July 05 , 2015 Poem: Are you me?

  1. Self-reflection often leaves us feeling as if we are just watching ourselves on some other plain, sometimes it doesn’t even feel real. You’ve expressed your inner turmoil very well and in a way that makes the reader think. Very good poem.

    sending hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reminds of that face in the mirror poem. The theme there is that we may not like that reflection and therein comes motivation to improve ourselves. I suppose it’s all a metaphor for taking that self inventory now and then as suggested in 12 Steps for recovery addictions.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the question posed in the poem. Family drama can certainly inform our writing. Sometimes writing about what separates us is the only way I can find my way back to myself. Very cool, Kim. Thanks for posting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Paula. I do think we lose ourselves in the drama and take on other people’s emotion. I like the phrase ‘ find my way back to myself’ a lot. It sums up the process beautifully.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m sorry for your pain. July is apparently not just a tough month for me..

    Interestingly, reflections have been a factor in one of my posts this week, too…

    http://shanjeniah.com/2015/07/05/a-season-of-reflection-row80-round-three-goals/

    Here’s the link; most of it is a goals post, but there are pictures…maybe not as gorgeous as that fox, but still…

    I love that you’re creating beautiful things from your pain…

    Holding you close in my thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Sometimes, that’s the best we can do – and it always helps, even if only a little…

        Sharing helps me, too – and not pretending it’s all sunshine and roses, in the moments when it isn’t…

        I don’t know if you’ll want to read this one, but it’s my version of sitting with the month as it starts to unroll,,,might be triggering though, so I leave it to your judgement…

        http://shanjeniah.com/2015/07/03/july-again-a-first-friday-photo-for-coffee-and-conversation/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Our daughter was born the next year. Her birthday is five days before Elijah’s. My birthday is four days after the date of his death…It makes for something of an – interesting, shall we say? – month…

        I try to just surf the Wave of Whatever Comes. It all kicks off Wednesday, with a birthday for the most amazing Daredevil Diva I know. I’m going to stockpile joy. =)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

