#8sunday August 09 , 2015 Birdie 02

It’s Weekend Writing Warriors time again. This is my submission. This story started out with a visual prompt and I called it Ghost. As happens, from time to time, the story took on a life and mind of its own and this is where it went.

#8sunday August 09 , 2015 Birdie 02

After the introduction of our main character, we discover that she is a haunt, who has been trapped in her childhood home, consuming fragments of her broken, discarded dreams as her only sustenance. Made homeless by the demolishing of her childhood home, she takes to wandering the streets.

The read the preceding text click here. The story continues with the following 8 sentences (I have included the last line of the last post for continuity):

A large, scruffy marmalade-striped cat was weaving around his legs murmuring and purring in counterpoint to his breathy serenade.

I must have moved, for the cat caught sight of me. Where all others were blind to me, this scraggy, scrawny cat had my measure. It sat silently, yellow eyes fixed on me, until Mr Stanislov had moved on.

As the sound of his whistling faded, the cat gathered itself and leaped on to the bench where I now sat. It gave me a long, considered stare, sat down next to me, and began to groom itself. Before long its purrs rumbled deep from inside its tatty frame.

Surprised by this unexpected company, I sat with the cat, long into the day.

© Kim Magennis 2015

Please, let me know what you think.Your comments or impressions are always very welcome. Alternatively, let me know you were here by clicking on the ‘like’ button below. To see what the other Weekend Writing Warriors have submitted, please click on the link below

. wewriwa banner

15 thoughts on “#8sunday August 09 , 2015 Birdie 02

  1. I like, I like… and so do my own three felines. Pussycats are such perceptive critters and in this world or not, it is a supreme compliment to be accepted by one; this is such a heartwarming snippet, just lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have often wondered if, when my animals stare off into the dark and bark or meow or just stare at seemingly nothing, there may be something my human eyes just may be missing. Wonderful snippet and what an intriguing plot line! I can’t wait to see more from the tatty cat and spirit friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kim,
    You had me at “murmuring and purring in counterpoint”. Great, lyrical passage, and I like it that the marmalade cat can see the ghost. I’ve often thought my own cats see things I don’t. Great Eight!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

