#8sunday August 16 , 2015 Birdie 03

It’s Weekend Writing Warriors time again. This is my submission. What started out as a paragraph in response to visual prompt took on a life and mind of its own and this is where it went.

#8sunday August 16 , 2015 Birdie 03

After the introduction of our main character, we discover that she is a haunt, who has been trapped in her childhood home, consuming fragments of her broken, discarded dreams as her only sustenance. Made homeless by the demolishing of her refuge, she takes to wandering the streets. She is unexpectedly gifted with the attention of a stray ginger cat.

The read the preceding text click here. The story continues with the following 10 sentences (I have included the last line of the last post for continuity):

Surprised by this unexpected company, I sat with the cat, long into the day. It had curled up into a tight, dirty orange ball and retreated to wherever it is that sleeping cats go.

When the sun was high in the sky, it stirred, and stretched. It fixed me again with its yellow stare, yawned and began grooming itself. I heard the rasp of its rough tongue, and could smell the increasingly musky dampness of its fur. Suddenly, mid-lick, it stopped and turned its head to over its one shoulder, as if it heard something. And then it was gone. Its striped orange tail disappeared jauntily down the road.

We shared my bench many a morning, the orange cat and I.

One day, taken with its attitude of feline purpose, I decided to follow it.

© Kim Magennis 2015

Please, let me know what you think.Your comments or impressions are always very welcome. Alternatively, let me know you were here by clicking on the ‘like’ button below. To see what the other Weekend Writing Warriors have submitted, please click on the link below

. wewriwa banner

23 thoughts on “#8sunday August 16 , 2015 Birdie 03

  1. Read this while my formerly feral tortie friend, Squeak, is stretched panther-like and sleeping, at the foot of my bed, gone to wherever sleeping cats go….

    Following cats almost always proves fascinating – but Squeak’s more likely to follow us. For someone who started life wild, she’s mightily doglike and social, in some ways.

    Most of the gingers I’ve known have been talkers. (and I worked for a veterinarian for several years, so I’ve known a LOT of felines!).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how the cat has friended her and she is used to sharing the bench with him (her?), cats are such intuitive critters. Great mystery as to where the cat goes off to. Good snippet.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Follow the cat! Love all the details, you’ve really set the scene.

    This phrase makes me think the cat only has one shoulder, though: “turned its head to over its one shoulder.” I think you could drop the “one.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the playfulness of the voice in your prose, and you’ve certainly piqued my curiosity…which is ironic, considering the piece is about a cat. ;D

    Like

Leave a Reply

