100 Words: Exorcist

Thomas had been sent to me in desperation by his family, and grudgingly by his psychiatrist. His condition was described as psychotic and schizophrenic.

As he lay on the gurney, I watched his other selves flicker in his etheric body. A giant man, a wild woman, a feral child. A dozen faces and minds. I searched until I found the One: a sly little gollum.

“Thomas?” Its furtive glance slid from my face. “I need you to stay Thomas. And I need you to send the others away.”

“What’s in it for me?”

I sighed. Weary. “Anything you want, Thomas.”

©KimMagennis 2016

Leave a Reply

