#8sunday, 16/08/14 Annie’s Song 2

Greetings, Weekend Writing Warriors! 

Before I introduce my excerpt this week I want to express my appreciation and offer an apology.

I have been going through ‘interesting times’ in my professional world. The bottom line is that I have been a little less engaged in getting through to everyone’s posts and commenting. My appreciation is for your continued support and encouragement during a challenging and difficult time, and my apology is for missing some of your posts. I am now in the working class of ‘self-employed’ and am planning to allocate a lot more time to my writing, and to you all. So this week, I look forward to visiting you all.

Thank you for your visits, your comments, and your encouragement. I have started believing, because of you, that I am – actually – a writer, with a voice, with someone who (I have come to admire and respect) is prepared to read what I write.

 The next few weeks I will share from a  WIP (with the working title: Annie’s Song) which has been written from the eyes of Gravais, the captain of  a faster-than-light scientific starship ship, which is transporting a new Team which has been assigned by the FOSB (Federation of Sentient Beings) to study a newly discovered planet. (Creative punctuation apology.)

Gravais has released the Team from SpaceSleep and we start from where we left of last week: Erit na Rakh was the first to recover.

For the rules of engagement and submissions of my  awesome Wewriwa fellows, please click on the icon below!

Her slender scaled form stirred. Her golden eyes sprang open as she became conscious of her surrounding. “We have arrived?” her soft voice was almost a whisper. “We have arrived,” Gravais confirmed. He helped her into a seated position and handed her a glass of restorative. Her elegant tail wrapped against her thigh and calf as she drank deeply. Gervais left her stretching and easing her lithe green body into wakefulness.

Olwen Anstelholm was next. Groaning, he rolled to his side and pushed himself into a seated position. Gravais was greeted with brilliant blue human eyes and an exuberant, toothy grin.

© Kim Magennis

Your comments or impressions are always very welcome. Please, drop me a word or two. Alternatively, please let me know you were here by clicking on the ‘like’ button below.

Thanks for stopping by and please visit the other talented Weekend Writing Warriors. Click on the logo below to go to the website.

wewriwa banner

47 thoughts on “#8sunday, 16/08/14 Annie’s Song 2

  1. Good luck on your new adventure. Remember you’re a writer because you write–the rest is practice. 🙂

    Love the description, but I’m not sure that repeating ‘human’ so close together works for me. Is there another way to describe him? Maybe in relation to another species…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the description here…so vivid and compelling. Great snippet.

    Man, there have been weeks where That Life Thing has been so crazy that I haven’t gotten to comment on posts, and it drives me crazy!(er) Here’s to your new chapter in the writing journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a nice description of the people. Just a touch of detail to show us the differences. Nicely done. Hope things settle down for you professionally and personally. Don’t sweat it. Do what you need to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely descriptions and look forward to reading more. Good luck with your life changes. I share your problem of not getting around to everyone on wewriwa, but we can only do the best with the circumstances in which we find ourselves. Good luck for your future self-employment.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great snippet. I’m already intrigued by the characters. Good luck with the next steps in your journey. I just returned to writing after a challenging period. I feel you. Thanks for dropping by. Shari

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, I love how different these two beings are! Great snippet! I look forward to reading more. All the best in your new endeavors!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

