#8sunday, 16/10/09 LabRat Ch2 01

Greetings, Weekend Writing Warriors! 

It looks like my life is about back on track, at least enough to re-engage with all of you. I apologise for my extended absence, it would appear that life changing events take a while to recover from. Instead of carrying on from my last series, I have decided to share more of a story that is starting to take shape as a little more than my usual writing exercises.

Daniel is not your normal hero. In fact, very far from it. Inopportunely rescued from a suicide attempt (by a 2 second admin error), he is plunged into an alternate reality, where he is supposed to be an already deceased ‘specimen’. Fortunately the workers overseeing his ‘collection’ were less than eager to change his status to that required by their paperwork, and he finds himself ‘relocated’. The only problem is, the Multiverse is a pretty big place, and he did not get returned to Earth.

His story continues in this second chapter (Falling into that New Career)  of Lab Rat (this is the working title only).

For the rules of engagement and submissions of my  awesome Wewriwa fellows, please click on the icon below!


Zith sighed as he sat down. He had just poked his head out his door to survey the waiting queue, all seated on tatty plastiform seats.

He only had an hour left of his work day, and there were at least fifty of them out there. The current occupant of his office was huddled under an offensively fishy blanket. An adult male, type III bipedal humanoid, level III sentience, no obvious pathology, psych assessment not complete.

“Mr Daniel Smith,” he paused to peer at the man over the edge of his bifocals, “I am Zith Grewnfarn, your case manager. We have some paperwork to complete and then you can be on your way.”

Daniel grunted, trying to remember how long he had been awake. Thirty, thirty-five hours? It felt like a thousand.

© Kim Magennis

Your comments or impressions are always very welcome. Please, drop me a word or two. Alternatively, please let me know you were here by clicking on the ‘like’ button below.

Thanks for stopping by and please visit the other talented Weekend Writing Warriors. Click on the logo below to go to the website.

wewriwa banner

46 thoughts on “#8sunday, 16/10/09 LabRat Ch2 01

  1. I love how quickly and easily you set the alienness of Zith’s thought processes, and the environment to a sleep-deprived Daniel.

    Glad to have you back, Kim – although I thought I was missing you more because I wasn’t here very much myself..lots of transitions.

    I hope your trip stateside was a happy one, and I’m delighted to read more of Daniel’s story!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s good to hear. I haven’t spent much time in Texas, mostly to be at a convention or driving through between Yellowstone and New York, but it’s a place I’d eventually like to spend more time in.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love, love \, love your world-building and your writing. You do such a good job in this snippet of showing the bureaucracy. Love the description: “The current occupant of his office was huddled under an offensively fishy blanket. An adult male, type III bipedal humanoid, level III sentience, no obvious pathology, psych assessment not complete.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

